On March 24, 2023, Governor DeSantis signed a new bill called HB837. Florida has enjoyed having a 4 year Statute of Limitations on claims of negligence for personal injury. The new bill has now shortened the Statute of Limitations from 4 years to 2 years.
What will this mean for Floridians?
This new amendment to the Florida Statute applies to causes of action accruing after the effective date of the law.Â In other words, if your cause of action took place prior to March 24, 2023, then you will not be bound by the new statute of limitations. Only causes of action that take place after this date will require lawsuits to be filed two years sooner.
Currently, approximately 23 other states have a 2 year statute of limitation for negligence claims. The others have 6 years, 4 years, 3 years and a few have a one year statute of limitations.
The stated purpose for shortening the period for filing suit is to curb the amount of lawsuits in the State of Florida and to protect consumers from rising rates.
The law is effective immediately. Needless to say, it a point of controversy among lawyers fighting for the injured.